Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw

For my very first recipe, allow me to introduce you to the only slaw I’ve ever liked. Now, that probably gives you a hint that if you’re looking for a traditional mayo-slathered, heavy slaw, you may want to just click on by and continue your quest. But if you’re looking for a refreshing, tangy, sweet, I-could-eat-a-giant-bowl-of-this-and-feel-great option, you’ve found it.

Loaded with cabbage, green apples, carrots, currants, and just a hint of red onion, this is the perfect bright flavour to offset a heavier meal, fill out your summer picnic table, or maybe top your fish tacos, Mom and Dad?

The cast of characters:

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw veggiesSweet and Sour Vegan Slaw dressing ingredients

We’ve got one large cabbage, approximately six green apples and six large carrots, one small-to-medium red onion, and about 300g (or 2 cups) Greek currants. For the dressing, we’ll be calling on that extra cranberry sauce left over from last holiday season, some apple cider vinegar, maple syrup, and a little sugar, salt, and white pepper to fine-tune the taste.

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw dressing

Let’s start with the dressing. It’s pretty simple: combine all ingredients in a bowl and whisk together!

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw dressingYou can now set that gorgeous red nectar aside while we pay some attention to the fruits and veg, starting with giving them all a good rinse-and-scrub.

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw carrots and apples

And now for the big task: shredding everything. If you have a food processor with a grating attachment, use it! Otherwise, get out that grater and celebrate the workout your triceps (?) are getting. Either way, I generally start by chopping each item into manageable chunks.

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw applesFun fact: I only learned this incredibly efficient way of slicing apples a couple of years ago. You just slice off a big chunk on either side of the core, turn the apple, and then slice off the two smaller chunks. Who knew? I always sliced the whole apple into halves, then quarters, then eighths, and then removed the core by cutting a v-shaped bit out of each slice. I’ve probably saved at least 10 minutes since 2013.

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw apples

So you grate the apples…

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw apples and carrotsAnd the carrots (I don’t peel them, just give them a good scrub)…

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw cabbage

And the cabbage– let’s talk about cabbage. These things can seem like unbreachable leafy green fortresses, but it’s actually pretty straightforward once you understand the structure you’re dealing with. I generally remove the first couple of leaves (usually quite dirty) and then cut the cabbage in half, aiming to slice directly through the stem/core on the bottom. Or, you know, just off to the side of it. But basically aiming for that point.

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw cabbageAnd then I cut each of the halves in half, still aiming for that core…

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw cabbage

And then, once I can clearly see the core that I’m trying to be rid of, I cut it diagonally out of each quarter…

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw cabbageAnd then I cut those quarters in half one more time to arrive at 8 nice little cabbage-wedges that fit in the food processor or can be gripped in my tiny hands for grating.

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw shredded veggies Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw shredded veggies

Speaking of grating, we finish up with the cabbage and the red onion…

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw shredded veggies and currants

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw before mixingAnd then we add the currants and pour that red nectar over the whole pile…

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw

And then we stir the whole mess together until it’s all one big rainbow-mess of deliciousness.

At this point, I recommend covering it and keeping it in the fridge overnight to let all of the flavours really come together. But I also recommend grabbing whatever utensil is nearest-to-hand and digging in. It’s really up to you.

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw

Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw
Makes about 10 cups of slaw

For the dressing:
1 1/2 cups (400g) cranberry sauce
1/2 cup (120ml) maple syrup
1/2 cup (120ml) apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup (55g) caster sugar
2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground white pepper

For the slaw:
1 large white cabbage
6 green apples
6 large carrots
1 red onion
2 cups (300g) Greek currants (can substitute raisins or other dried fruits)

Place all dressing ingredients together in a bowl and whisk thoroughly to combine. Set aside.

Using a cheese grater or a food processor with grater attachment, shred cabbage, apples, carrots, and onion. Place together with currants in a large bowl.

Pour dressing over shredded cabbage mix and stir thoroughly until evenly coated. Serve immediately or refrigerate for 6-12 hours to let flavours combine.

3 thoughts on “Sweet and Sour Vegan Slaw

  1. I totally made this today after seeing your post on Facebook. I admit, I had to make some adjustments due to what I had readily available (i.e., I didn’t have cranberry sauce so I used my raspberry jam and I only had one granny smith and two golden delicious apples). I had red and yellow bell peppers from my CSA that I threw in for good measure since I didn’t have many currants. This turned out SO tasty! (Yes, I am eating some now.) Granted, the ingredients have only been melding for about 2 hours, but the flavor is definitely much more complex than it was right after I mixed all the ingredients together. This recipe is a keeper!

    Like

Leave a Reply

