This Week (Last Week) in Borrowing: Lemon Curd and Glazed Doughnut Holes

I’ll just start off by saying that I didn’t try these two things together, an oversight which I am now bitterly regretting. But both were meltingly, mouth-wateringly delicious and will be making repeat appearances in my kitchen, so I have a feeling they’ll meet eventually.

Rye Humour -- Lemon Curd

Lemon curd: Scripps College, where I studied for my undergrad degree some number of years ago, is a women’s college known for academic excellence and progressive ideas. It has come a long way from its early days as a sort of finishing school for young ladies of society, but one glorious tradition that has made its way through the years is that of afternoon tea. Every Wednesday afternoon, students gather in Seal Court to enjoy a bountiful spread of scones and cream and jam and smooth, tart, vibrant lemon curd. I had no idea what it was the first time I tried it, and oh! New horizons opened up for me that day.

I used the BBC’s recipe, found here, with the only change being that I strained the mixture through a fine sieve once it had started to thicken but before it was too solid. This gave me a perfectly smooth and airy lemon curd. If bits of lemon zest don’t bother you, you can skip this step! This lemon curd has been perfect on pancakes, muffins, toast, mixed with plain yoghurt, licked off a spoon…

Rye Humour -- Glazed Doughnut Holes

And doughnut holes: I made beignets a few weeks back, and they were delicious and very well-received by the hungry mob who somehow managed to consume about 200 of them in less than 12 hours. But let’s be real: sometimes you don’t have energy to put into kneading yeasted dough or hours to wait for it to rise. Sometimes you and the hungry mob need doughnuts NOW!

These Easy Homemade Glazed Doughnut Holes by Kelly at Just a Taste are leavened with baking powder, which means that you can have doughnut holes (or alien doughnut shapes, if you don’t have a tiny ice cream scoop to make perfect dough balls) galore in the amount of time it takes you to heat your vat of oil to 350°F. (It doesn’t take that long.) Kelly’s recipe is a very basic vanilla doughnut hole– perfect as written, but I’m already scheming of all the little bits and bobs you could add to this to really take it to the next level. This time the doughnuts didn’t survive the hour.

4 thoughts on “This Week (Last Week) in Borrowing: Lemon Curd and Glazed Doughnut Holes

Leave a Reply

